You shall only have one God

Having more than one God

Often people misunderstand this statement, because they think that “having more than one God” means believing in a God other than our Holy Father.  But there is more to this.  As anything or anyone we give too much importance to, thus becomes our God.

You shall have no other gods before me. 
Deuteronomy 5:7

Most people give too much value to the things of this world.  Even if you are a believer and a follower of Christ, but you still idolize material things, in the eyes of God, you are worshiping two things at once. For example; money and success. For He says;

Do not worship any other god,
 For the LORD, whose name is jealous, 
is a jealous God. 
Exodus 34:14

Even the holy spirit can get idolized. Why? Because when the holy spirit leaves your body, you really want to have it back, more than anything else.  Therefore, by obsessing about something, that need and obsession becomes their God.  In this example, the need being the Holy Spirit.

The following is a testimonial from one of my colleagues:

I used to have the Holy Spirit within me but one day, out of the blue, the holy spirit left my body.  I got so depressed and sad that I was constantly praying to have it back.  That was all I wanted!  I came to the understanding that God was not going to give it to me, so I asked him what I was doing wrong and the answer finally came to me…  I learned that I wanted it so much that I was idolizing the fact of receiving the Holy Spirit, which was wrong.  So I stopped being consumed with this and I finally received the Holy Spirit!

Jesus is God

I and the Father are one 
John 10:30

(also read: 10:38, 17:11, 21)

I am the Alpha and the Omega, 
The First and the Last, 
The Beginning and the End. 
Revelation 22:13
Jesus said to him, “I AM the way,
 the truth, and the Life. 
No one comes to the Father
 except through Me.” 
John 14:6-7

The Holy Trinity “The Father, The Son and The Holy Spirit” are all one but yet distinct persons.  Together, they are equally and eternally the one true God.  Our Heavenly Father can manifest himself in the spirit, flesh, conscious…

“I have not spoken in secret from the beginning; 
 From the time that it was, 
there am I; and now the Lord God, 
 And his Spirit, hath sent me.”
Isaiah 48:16

When you open your heart and you pray to God, he will hear your prayer. When you call on him, he will answer you , for whatever you ask in Jesus name, you will receive.

In that day you will no longer ask me anything.
Very truly I tell you, 
my Father will give you 
Whatever you ask in my name. 
John 16:23
That all should honor the Son 
just as they honor the Father. 
He who does not honor the Son 
Does not honor the Father who sent Him. 
John 5:23

Jesus was the one and only human to never sin, who did not get tempted by the devil. He healed and showed the love of God to everyone. It is because of him, that we can get the Holy Spirit for he was the only one who was so pure that he was always walking with God in the path of righteousness. We as humans are sinful beings, but Jesus, as he is God, is pure and without sin.

 He who knew no sin was counted as sin 
 In order that we might become the 
 Righteousness of God. 
2 Corinthians 5:21

And still people deny that Jesus is God, if you are one of these people leave your thought in the comments and I will answer you. If you search for the truth with all your hearth and pray to receive the truth, you will find it.

But if from there you seek the LORD your God, 
You will find him if you seek him with all your heart 
And with all your soul. 
Deuteronomy 4:29
Leave a Reply

